E-Newsletter - July 2019


Anthony Jaslowski, MD, will serve as new Chair of the Alliance Constitution and Bylaws Committee. He succeeds Bruce A. Peterson, MD, of the University of Minnesota/Masonic Cancer Center. Dr. Jaslowski is the Principal Investigator of the Wisconsin NCI Community Oncology Research Program and Medical Director of HSHS St. Vincent Cancer Research Institute. He is also Chair of the Department of Oncology and Cancer Committee at Green Bay Oncology.   

David E. Kozono, MD,PhD, Elizabeth A. Mittendorf, MD, PhD, and Andrew Nixon, PhD, MBA, will serve as Co-Chairs of the new Alliance Immuno-Oncology Committee. Dr. Kozono is a Senior Physician and Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology at Harvard Medical School with clinical and research interests in precision radiotherapy, targeted therapies and immunotherapy for lung cancer. Dr. Mittendorf is the Rob and Karen Hale Distinguished Chair in Surgical Oncology at Brigham and Women's Hospital, Director of Surgical Research; Director of the Breast Immuno-Oncology Program and Co-Director of the Breast Cancer Clinical Research Program at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Dr. Nixon is an Associate Professor in Medicine at the Duke University School of Medicine and Director of the Phase I Biomarker Laboratory, a Molecular Reference Laboratory for the Alliance.       
Miguel-Angel Perales, MD, will serve as Chair of the Alliance Transplant and Cell Based Therapies Committee. Dr. Perales is Deputy Chief of the Adult Bone Marrow Transplant Service and Director of the Adult Bone Marrow Transplantation Fellowship Program at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. He succeeds Thomas C. Shea, MD, of the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, who now serves as a Vice-Chair, along with William A. Wood, MD, who was recently appointed to the committee. Dr. Wood is an Associate Professor in the School of Medicine at UNC-Chapel Hill and has research interests in novel strategies to measure and intervene on physical function during and after cancer treatment.  
Eun-Sil (Shelley) Hwang, MD, MPH, and Matthew Poppe, MD, will serve as Vice-Chairs of the Alliance Breast Committee. Dr. Hwang is the Mary and Deryl Hart Professor of Surgery, Vice Chair of Research, Chief in the Section of Breast Surgery, Professor of Surgery, and Professor of Radiology at the Duke University School of Medicine. Dr. Poppe is an Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology at the University of Utah and Director of the Residency Program in Radiation Oncology at Huntsman Cancer Institute.  
Bruce D. Rapkin, PhD, will serve as a Vice-Chair of the Alliance Health Disparities Committee. Dr. Rapkin is Professor of Epidemiology & Population Health, Professor of Family and Social Medicine, and Division Head of Community Collaboration & Implementation Sciences in the Department of Epidemiology & Population Health at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine, His research focuses on building community-academic partnerships in order to reduce barriers and improve the quality of life among diverse, medically underserved patients, and their families, as well as the communities that they serve.




For other articles in this issue of the Alliance E-News newsletter, see below.