Richard L. Schilsky CALGB Achievement Award Sponsors

Abbott Astellas AstraZeneca Celgene Eisai EMD Serono

Trinidad Ajazi, M.M. Jane M.Armer, Ph.D. Nancy L. Bartlett, M.D. Donald A. Berry, Ph.D. Monica Bertagnolli, M.D. Clara Bloomfield, M.D. Denise Brennan Daniel R. Budman, M.D. Harold J. Burstein, M.D., Ph.D. Lisa A. Carey, M.D. Andrew J. Carroll III, Ph.D. Marc L. Citron, M.D. Harvey Jay Cohen, M.D. Debra Condon Nancy Daly Anthony D'Amico, M.D. Todd L. Demmy, M.D. Kandie Dembsev, M.S., R.N. Lynn G. Dressler, Ph.D. James A. Eastham, M.D. Martin J. Edelman, M.D. Merrill Egorin, M.D. Karen Elarde-McCuaig Stewart Fleishman, M.D. Gini Fleming, M.D. Stephen L. George, Ph.D. Stephen Graziano, M.D. John Grecula, M.D. Mark Green, M.D. Stephen Grubbs, M.D. Dr. & Mrs. Hans Grunwald Olwen M. Hahn, M.D. Susan Halabi, Ph.D. Daniel F. Hayes Debra Herzan Donna Hollis, M.S. Clifford A. Hudis, M.D. David D. Hurd. M.D. Mark Hurwitz, M.D. David Ilson, M.D. Ralph Johnson Sin-Ho Jung, Ph.D.



Genzyme Oncology Millennium Pharmaceuticals Novartis OSI Pharmaceuticals Pfizer Oncology Sanofi-Aventis

Philip W. Kantoff, M.D. M. Margaret Kemeny, M.D. Jeffrey J. Kirshner, M.D. Leslie J. Kohman, M.D. Ionathan Kolitz, M.D. Robert Kratzke, M.D. Ann LaCasce, M.D. Anand S. Lagoo, M.D. Richard A. Larson, M.D. John P. Leonard, M.D. Dr. & Mrs. Eric Lester Ellis G. Levine, M.D. Alan P. Lyss. M.D. Mark L. Maitland, M.D., Ph.D. lames R. Marshall, M.D. James L. Mohler, M.D. Daniel M. Moore, Jr. Dr. & Mrs. Hyman Muss Donna Niedzwiecki, Ph.D. Herbert Pang, Ph.D. Barbara Parker, M.D. Ann H. Partridge, M.D. David J. Peace, M.D. Porterfield Family Foundation Kanti R. Rai, M.D. Karen Sartell Beth & Steven Schilsky Deborah Schrag, M.D. Katherine Shea Perry Shen, M.D. Mary A. Sherrell, M.A. Lawrence N. Shulman, M.D. William Sikov, M.D. Lewis Silverman, M.D. Stephen Solomon, M.D. Wendy Stock, M.D. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill c/o Richard Goldberg, M.D. Daniel Vaena, M.D. Everett Vokes, M.D. William Walsh, M.D. Eric Winer, M.D.



2011 RICHARD L. SCHILSKY Cancer and Leukemia Group B ACHIEVEMENT AWARD



One-year CALGB Grant for Promising Cancer Research

Cancer and Leukemia B Foundation 230 W. Monroe St., Suite 2050 Chicago, IL 60606-4703 At the Cancer and Leukemia Group B (CALGB), the best investigators from U.S. academic and community medical centers are supported by a large network of exceptional health care providers, patient advocates, clinical research professionals, and administrators. In a research community filled with so many valuable individuals, some truly exemplary work inevitably goes unnoticed.

The Richard L. Schilsky Cancer and Leukemia Group B Achievement Award was established in 2010 to remedy this oversight; the award was designed to acknowledge promising research conducted by one of our own investigators and offer institutional support to help advance their research. As an organization, it is vital that we identify and honor the incredible people responsible for our success in the research that transforms care for cancer patients.

The award is made possible through generous donations from CALGB members and industry supporters. It is presented each year at the CALGB Summer Group Meeting held in June, where awardees give a brief presentation of their work at the plenary session.

All CALGB members are welcome and encouraged to submit nominations for this award. Please help us find the "unsung heroes" of the CALGB so that they can receive the thanks that they so richly deserve.

2011 Award Recipient



Eric J. Small, M.D.

Dr. Small is the Ascherman Professor of Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) and Chief of the Division of Hematology-Oncology and Director of Clinical Science at the UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer

Center. He is the GU section editor for the Journal of Clinical Oncology and a Principal Investigator in the Prostate Cancer Clinical Trials Consortium. His research focus is prostate cancer, and he is currently coordinating 30 active protocols for the treatment of urologic malignancies. He is a member of several professional medical societies, including the American Society of Clinical Oncology and the American Urological Association.

At the CALGB when Dr. Small undertook leadership of the Prostate Committee, he added expertise in other GU tumors, expanding the clinical trial portfolio and transforming the committee into the GU Committee as we know it today. A comprehensive correlative sciences portfolio was also developed and major contributions were made in devising a model to predict overall survival in men with castration-resistant prostate cancer. Under his tenure as GU Committee Chair, the GU Committee has become an influential collection of thought leaders with a track record of conducting large studies with significant impact in the treatment of genitourinary cancers. Amongst Dr. Small's greatest legacy is his involvement and guidance of junior faculty within the CALGB and the great pride he takes in the accomplishments of his mentees. Under his guidance, they have developed into top notch researchers ensuring that the cooperative group mission thrive and the treatment of GU cancers will continue to improve.